Skip to content

Thesis Online

June 7, 2016

My previous post was more than 20 months ago, which means that today is as good as any to starting updating the blog again.  In the interim, I have managed to submit my master’s thesis, graduate from American University, move into DC, start my PhD studies at Georgetown, and travel to Tanzania again for a summer of Kiswahili language study.  I am writing this blog post from Usa River, a village outside of Arusha in northern Tanzania and will soon post a more comprehensive post on how I came to be here with the Critical Language Scholarship Program and updates about my progress.

In the mean time, you might possibly (but probably are not) be wondering about how you can go about reading my entire MA thesis, which I uncreatively titled “Kiswahili and Decolonization: The Inter-Territorial Language Committee and Successor Organizations, 1930-1970” and which incorporates some of my June 2014 archival research in Dar es Salaam.  The thesis follows the development of British colonial language policy in East Africa and how the committee set up by the British to promote the Kiswahili language continued to do so, and even work with Tanganyikan nationalists, long after the British government had abandoned its official promotion of Kiswahili. Governments have often used language as a way to control their people, but, as the British reversal demonstrates, they cannot always foresee the consequences of their linguistic policies.  So, in the rare chance that interests you in the least, I have good news for you.  Because I published my thesis in open access format, anyone can legally download it in its entirety without charge from either American University’s Digital Research Archive or ProQuest’s PQDT Open database.  (Niram’s Read-o-meter estimates that the main text will only take you 171 minutes to read!)

I will endeavor to update the blog with details of my Swahili studies within the next few days.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Peggy Straight permalink
    June 7, 2016 1:40 pm

    So nice to see your face again, Mr. Marshall. And, as usual, happy to hear about your travels, adventures, and your future. Just last week I was telling the scouts about this awesome young man that had taught cit in the world for so many years… so, if you ever get bored when you get back to ptown, let me know, and I’m sure that we could drum up about 15-20 boys to take the merit badge with you again. 🙂 in case you have nothing to do, that i. 🙂

    Take care and god bless. Hugs ps

Leave a Reply

